ABOUT US

Located in Crossville, Tennessee, Upland Design Group serves the Upper Cumberland and East Tennessee regions. We offer professional and experienced architectural services with five registered architects on staff. Over 40 years of experience in the profession has led to over 1,000 completed projects and each one has had a role in the successful identity and reputation we have today. Our willingness to listen and serve is what sets us apart from other architects. 

DESIGN PHILOSOPHY

As design professionals we are committed to creating environments that connect people and serve communities. We realize our responsibility is to design spaces that respond to the needs of the occupant rather than our own individual ideals. At the end of the day our measure of success isn't by awards and publications but by the satisfaction of our clients.

MANAGEMENT APPROACH

Whether it's a $100,000 or $20,000,000 project we make a commitment to provide consistent leadership from a Firm Principal from beginning to end. We enjoy being "hands on" Architects and manage our workload to so that we can lead all phases of our projects and be accessible to our clients.


PRINCIPALS

kchamberlin.jpg

KIM ALLEN CHAMBERLIN AIA, NCARB, LEED AP

Kim has been an integral part of Upland Design Group since 1990. During that time he has been instrumental in the continued growth of UDG. With a wide variety of projects completed, Kim is able to bring a diversified and experienced background to his projects. 

EDUCATION
Bachelor of Architecture 1982, University of Cincinnati 

REGISTRATION
Tennessee 1984, Ohio 1984, Kentucky 1992

PROFESSIONAL ORGANIZATIONS
American Institute of Architects, East TN Chapter of AIA, National Council of Architectural Registration Boards, LEED Accredited Professional - US Green Building Council.

kchamberlin@uplanddesigngroup.com

btempleton.jpg

BRIAN TEMPLETON AIA, NCARB, LEED AP

Brian joined Upland Design Group in 2002 and became a Firm Principal in 2007. He has served as the lead designer on numerous projects ranging from high end financial centers to award winning budget driven schools. Brian brings a strong design sense to the firm's projects with his creative skills and unwavering attention to detail. 

EDUCATION
Bachelor of Architecture 1999, University of Tennessee Magna Cum Laude

REGISTRATION
Tennessee 2006

PROFESSIONAL ORGANIZATIONS
American Institute of Architects, East TN Chapter of AIA, National Council of Architectural Registration Boards, LEED Accredited Professional - US Green Building Council

btempleton@uplanddesigngroup.com

ahill.jpg

ALLEN HILL RRC, CDT, NCARB, LEED AP BD+C

Allen has a diversified architect's experience with multiple well known firms and has become a key staff member in all facets of projects. His strengths include data technologies and materials specifications during his 22 years on Upland Design Group's project teams. 

EDUCATION
Bachelor of Architecture 1990, University of Tennessee

REGISTRATION
Tennessee 1995

PROFESSIONAL ORGANIZATIONS
Tennessee Technology Center at Crossville - Drafting Advisory Committee, RCI Registered Roof Consultant, American Institute of Architects (East TN Chapter), National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB), LEED Accredited Professional - US Green Building Council, CDT Certification - Construction Specifications Institute (CSI)

bahill@uplanddesigngroup.com


OUR TEAM

Aaron Grohol, AIA  - agrohol@uplanddesigngroup.com

Aeric Gunnels – agunnels@uplanddesigngroup.com

Bethany Bohannon – bbohannon@uplanddesigngroup.com

Bo Howard, LEED AP BD+C – bhoward@uplanddesigngroup.com

Carl Deskins, AIA  – cdeskins@uplanddesigngropu.com

Don Griffis – dgriffis@uplanddesigngroup.com

Dylan Brents – dbrents@uplanddesigngroup.com

Gwen Houston – ghouston@uplanddesigngroup.com

Rob Thew – rthew@uplanddesigngroup.com

C. Rodgers Spencer – rspencer@uplanddesigngroup.com